1. Home
  2. Products
  3. Registries
  4. Stores
  5. My Target
  6. Shopping Cart
  7. Weekly Ad
  8. Deals

Welcome to Target

Chapter V [Explicit Lyrics]

$6.99 online

List: $7.98

12% off


special offers (1)


Offer available online only. Offer applies to purchases of $50 or more of eligible items across all categories. Look for the "SPEND $50: SHIPS FREE" logo on eligible items. Some exclusions apply. Items that are not eligible are subject to shipping charges. $50 purchase is based on eligible merchandise subtotal. Items that are not eligible, GiftCards, e-GiftCards, gift wrap, tax and shipping and handling charges will not be included in determining merchandise subtotal. Offer valid for orders shipping within the 48 contiguous states, as well as APO/FPO and for Standard and To the Door shipping methods only. Not valid on previous orders.


By {$Staind} album five it's remarkable how much bile still sits in {$Aaron Lewis}' gut, how much mental anguish he's endured. But what's equally remarkable is how diligently he regurgitates it. He's like the {\post-grunge} {%Job}. Arguably emotion trumps {$Layne Staley} and {$Alice in Chains} as being the biggest component in this music. {$Lewis}' first-person therapy drove the 2001 breakthrough {&"It's Been Awhile,"} his psyche was the star of 2003's {^14 Shades of Grey}, and he's once again searching, waiting, wondering, and flailing on {^Chapter V}. "I'm still wearing this miserable skin," he cries in the churning {&"Please."} "Why can't you just forgive me?" he pleads in the moody lead single, {&"Right Here."} "I don't want to relive all the mistakes/I've made along the way." {$Staind} often settles into a stodgy trudge somewhere south of melody, and the {$Alice}/{$Pearl Jam}/{$Tool} forces are still strong. ({&"Devil"} is like a {$Pearl Jam}-branded template.) But the thing about {$Lewis} is that he's just so genuine. Hundreds of frontmen pour out their emotions, from {\post-grunge} bruisers to diary-clutching {\emo} ninnies. But you can tell it's not a gimmick with {$Lewis}. There are no illusions to his lyrics, no opportunistic shadows behind his words. "Tell me please/Who the f*ck do you want me to be?" -- {$Lewis} could care less about looking macho when his heart's on the line. He searches for his emotional rescue in every note of every song, and if the hook suffers, well, too bad. Unfortunately they do suffer on {^Chapter V} -- the mostly mid-tempo songs plod along, usually turning to a screeching lead guitar over chunky chording to differentiate the choruses. But by this point in the band's career it's likely fans are responding exclusively to {$Lewis}' heady turmoil, not just waiting for a melody as strong as the one in {&"It's Been Awhile."} {^V} does still has its moments. {&"Take This"} builds gently to an understated chorus -- it wouldn't be out of place on a {$Lifehouse} album -- and {&"Right Here"} is strong. As for rocking, {&"Falling"} satisfies in a mid-'90s modern {\rock} radio sort of way. But {$Staind} is still about that wounded muscle in {$Lewis}' chest, and whether or not he'll ever find redemption. ~ Johnny Loftus, Rovi

additional information

Parental Advisory: Explicit Lyrics
  • TCIN: 11682405
  • UPC: 075596298223
  • Store Item Number (DPCI): 012-06-0063
  • return & exchange policy

    This item must be returned within 30 days of the ship date. See return policy for details.

    refund/exchange policy

    Most unopened items in new condition returned within 90 days will receive a refund or exchange. Some items have a modified return policy that is less than 90 days. Those items will either show a "return by" date or "return within" day range under the item on your receipt or packing slip and in the "Item details, shipping" tab if purchased on Items that are opened or damaged or do not have a packing slip or receipt may be denied a refund or exchange. All bundled items must be returned with all components for a full refund. Bundle components may not all have the same return policy; please check your packing slip for details.  Some items, such as gift cards, digital items are never returnable. 

    See the Target return policy for complete information.

    Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store and online. View full details at